Sri Lanka will give Pakistan tough time, says Sarfraz Ahmed | Sports

KARACHI: Skipper Sarfraz Ahmed said on Saturday that the series against Sri Lanka will be a challenge for the team as the visiting side will give Team Pakistan ‘a tough time’.

Speaking at a press conference, the skipper said that the retirement of senior players, Younis Khan and Misbahul Haq, has left a void and the team will miss their presence in the coming tours. 

“Misbah took the Test team to number one spot and I will try to be shape my captaincy after him,”. 

He added that captaincy for him is a challenge. 

Ahmed further said leg-spinner Yasir Shah is fit to play the coming series and will play a pivotal role in the Tests.

The skipper added that the players and team management are on the same page and chief selector Inzamamul Haq gives importance to his opinions as the skipper of the national team. 

The Test squad for the upcoming series against Sri Lanka was announced on Saturday, comprising five uncapped players including fast bowler Mir Hamza.

Leg-spinner Yasir Shah, who put to rest fitness concerns after he nailed the tests on Saturday, was selected in the squad, along with Azhar Ali, who has been struggling with a troubled knee but was cleared to play with the help of injections.

Chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq, addressing a press conference, announced the names of the 16 players in the squad, which includes a combination of five fast bowlers and two specialist spinners.

Batsmen Haris Sohail and Usman Salahuddin have both played one-day internationals for Pakistan but are yet to make their Test debuts.

Spin-bowling all-rounder Bilal Asif and left-arm Mohammad Asghar were the other players in the squad yet to play in Tests.

The chief selector said he wants to give maximum opportunity to youngsters to showcase their talent in the series.


Azhar Ali, Shan Masood, Sami Aslam, Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Sarfraz Ahmed (captain, wicketkeeper), Usman Salahuddin, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Asghar, Mohammad Abbas, Bilal Asif, Mir Hamza and Wahab Riaz. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *